[cfgeeks] SouthEast Toyota Finance
Dave Hudson
cfg at davehudson.net
Thu Mar 1 15:27:39 EST 2007
Yeah, did that too.
-----Original Message-----
From: Kevin Korb [mailto:kmk at sanitarium.net]
Sent: Thursday, March 01, 2007 3:24 PM
To: Central Florida Geeks
Subject: Re: [cfgeeks] SouthEast Toyota Finance
-----BEGIN PGP SIGNED MESSAGE-----
Hash: SHA1
Send a message to Verisign too. They will actually send takedown notices to
people who wrongly use that logo.
We got kicked for our page that sells secure web sites because we had a
"this is how it will look page" with the Verisign logo that wasn't actually
a secure page. The fact that it was clearly intended to be a sample and not
an actual secure page wasn't enough for them.
- --
~*-,._.,-*~'`^`'~*-,._.,-*~'`^`'~*-,._.,-*~'`^`'~*-,._.,-*~'`^`'~*-,._.,-*~
Kevin Korb Phone: (407) 252-6853
Systems Administrator Internet:
FutureQuest, Inc. Kevin at FutureQuest.net (work)
Orlando, Florida kmk at sanitarium.net (personal)
Web page: http://www.sanitarium.net/
PGP public key available on web site.
~*-,._.,-*~'`^`'~*-,._.,-*~'`^`'~*-,._.,-*~'`^`'~*-,._.,-*~'`^`'~*-,._.,-*~
On Thu, 1 Mar 2007, Dave Hudson wrote:
> Date: Thu, 1 Mar 2007 15:18:27 -0500
> From: Dave Hudson <cfg at davehudson.net>
> To: 'Central Florida Geeks' <cfgeeks at mail.cfgeeks.org>
> Subject: [cfgeeks] SouthEast Toyota Finance
>
> Wow - you guys won't believe what I ran into today.
>
> This should turn out to be interesting. SouthEast Toyota Finance,
> whom we financed our car through, sent out a notice in this months
> bill saying "Access your statement online"... pay your bill, etc, etc.
> The addy is www.setf.com
>
> Long story short, I went in the create my account, and bam - first red
> flag
> - to create my account its asks for my social sec num or VIN number.
> I noticed that they site was not secure (HTTP). I figured - OK, they
goofed..
> I'll just use my VIN.
>
> So I do that and continue... BAM - not secure.... long story short, I
> end up going all the way through the site (which has "SECURED BY VERISIGN"
> plastered all over it) and nothing is secure. I clicked on the "Pay
> My Bill" link and it asked for all my bank account info... the entire
> form and its submittal.... UNSECURE!!
>
> I tried to contact them.. via their website and I got "Thanks for your
> message. We'll respond in 2 days"!!! I called their 1800 number...
> and it kept kicking me out. It wouldn't recognize my account number
> and refused to let me go any further in the system without it!!
>
> I ended up sending a note to a local consumer investigative reporter!!
>
> Should be interesting to see where this goes!
>
> Dave
>
> _______________________________________________
> cfgeeks mailing list
> cfgeeks at mail.cfgeeks.org
> http://mail.cfgeeks.org/mailman/listinfo/cfgeeks
>
-----BEGIN PGP SIGNATURE-----
Version: GnuPG v1.4.6-ecc01.6 (GNU/Linux)
iD8DBQFF5zZpVKC1jlbQAQcRAmGIAJ9JusbqqQcPq51ZuHsFnEY1nlebsACbBmP5
lIjtrwCIzvsHk0ItVLosdY0=
=anO0
-----END PGP SIGNATURE-----
_______________________________________________
cfgeeks mailing list
cfgeeks at mail.cfgeeks.org
http://mail.cfgeeks.org/mailman/listinfo/cfgeeks
More information about the cfgeeks
mailing list